Planetary Compositions

Planetary Compositions

The following content consists of what the planets in our solar system are made of. Composition is defined as an object that is made of elements. What elements make up the planet’s atmospheres in our solar system?


Mercury consists of the elements oxygen, sodium, hydrogen, helium, potassium, iron, and silicate.


Venus is mostly made of sulfur dioxide, sulfuric acid, and carbon dioxide.


Earth has an atmosphere that consists of nitrogen, oxygen, and carbon dioxide.


Mars is made of iron, nickel, sulfur, magnesium, aluminum, calcium, and potassium.


Jupiter is a gas giant that consists of mostly hydrogen and helium.


Saturn is made of hydrogen, helium, ammonia, ammonium sulfide, and iron alloy.


Uranus is made of hydrogen, helium, methane, water, ammonia


Neptune consists of hydrogen, helium, methane, and nickel-iron alloy.


Pluto is mostly made of nitrogen, methane, carbon, and monoxide.

The Planetary Symbols
by Cassie F. 2020

Related Content

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.